Maimuna Mendy

Maimuna Mendy

Group Head Laboratory Services and Biobank Group - IARC Lyon France

Maimuna Mendy completed higher degree studies in Virology (PhD) at the University of London in 1994. In addition to her background in molecular virology and infectious disease and cancer, she has over 25 years’ experience in assembling and managing longitudinal cohort studies in Africa, managing biological resources and coordinating the biobank activities for several scientific projects. Dr Mendy has a broad background of capacity building in Low and Middle Income Country (LMIC) settings in the area of biobanking, laboratory and field research for epidemiological based studies and since 2010 she has expanded her interest in biobanking and now has a role in coordinating the Biobank and Cohort Building Network for LMIC (BCNet).

Maimuna Mendy joined IARC in 2010 as Head, Laboratory Services and Biobank Group. The Group is responsible for the management of over 5 million samples including one of the largest European Cohorts (EPIC) which has a total of 4 million samples. Dr Mendy successfully led the centralization of the IARC biobank which has brought together sample collections from individual studies on one platform and is managed centrally by a common database.

Dr Mendy has leveraged the experience gained from assembling and working with multiple cohort studies by providing technical and scientific expertise to LMIC biobanks including advising on issues related to quality, infrastructure, transnational access of biological samples and data and ethics. She continues to provide the relevant expertise in her role as co-applicant and PI for two EU-H2020 Grants; ADOPT-BBMRI-ERIC and B3Africa.

Dr Mendy’s memberships to international organizations include, being Vice President for AORTIC, Independent Expert Committee Member for the H3Africa Biorepository program, representing IARC as a member of the Assembly of Members and Scientific Committee for BBMRI-ERIC, member of ESBB and ISBER. She also serves as education and training committee member for ISBER and ESBB and on several other Scientific Advisory Boards.